Board of Education

The Navajo Nation Board of Education is an 11-member board made up of elected members and members appointed by the Office of the Navajo Nation President.

The Board was established through the Diné Sovereignty in Education Act of 2005. The Board is empowered to do all things necessary and proper to carry out its responsibilities under Title 10, Navajo Nation Code.

The Board oversees the operations of schools under its jurisdiction and exercises regulatory functions and duties over Navajo educational programs.

Current Board Members:

Priscilla B. Manuelito

Priscilla B. Manuelito


Elected Member
Northern Agency

Spencer W. Willie


Elected Member
Eastern Navajo Agency

Dr. Victoria Yazzie

Dr. Victoria Yazzie


Elected Member
Western Navajo Agency

Sharon A. Todacheenie


Elected Member
Fort Defiance Agency

Dr. Henry Fowler

Elected Member

Central Navajo Agency

Marlene Burbank

Appointed Member

Traditional Navajo Culture Representative 

John Emerson

Freda Nells

Joan A. Gray

Andrea K. Thomas

Appointed Member

Parent Representative

Dr. Pauletta White

Ms. Patricia Gonnie

Acting Superintendent of Schools

Board of Education –
Scheduled Meetings

April 1, 2021 9:00 a.m., NNBOE Regular Board Meeting, Virtual on Zoom


(Location, time subject to change upon Board vote)