For information on the reopening of Navajo Nation schools, click here
Announcements from DODE Admin

Board of Education

  1. Home
  2. About DODE
  3. Board of Education
Navajo Nation Board of Education members with former Navajo Nation President Pet

The Navajo Nation Board of Education is an 11-member board made up of elected members and members appointed by the Office of the Navajo Nation President.

The Board was established through the Diné Sovereignty in Education Act of 2005. The Board is empowered to do all things necessary and proper to carry out its responsibilities under Title 10, Navajo Nation Code.

The Board oversees the operations of schools under its jurisdiction and exercises regulatory functions and duties over Navajo educational programs.

Current Board Members:

Dr. Henry Fowler


Central Navajo Agency

Dr. Pauletta White

Vice President

Dr. Victoria Yazzie


Elected Member
Western Navajo Agency

Marlene Burbank

Appointed Member

Traditional Navajo Culture Representative 

Emerson John

Traditional Navajo Culture Representative

Freda Nells

Priscilla Benally

Elected Member
Northern Agency

Joan A. Gray

Parent Representative

Andrea K. Thomas

Appointed Member

Parent Representative

Spencer W. Willie

Elected Member
Eastern Navajo Agency

Sharon A. Todacheenie

Elected Member
Fort Defiance Agency

Board of Education –
Scheduled Meetings

February 3, 2022 9:00 a.m., NNBOE Regular Board Meeting, Virtual on Zoom


(Location, time subject to change upon Board vote)