For information on the reopening of Navajo Nation schools, click here
News and Announcements from DODE Admin

The Department of Diné Education extends its congratulations to Dr. Charles M. Roessel, President of Diné College, for being named the 2023-2024 Tribal College President Honoree of the Year by the American Indian College Fund.

The College Fund is one of our department’s key partners in providing the necessary funding for our Diné students to achieve their goals of higher education. The President Honoree of the Year is awarded to education leaders who make significant contributions to our tribal colleges.

From his high school days in Chinle to attending the University of Northern Colorado and then Prescott College, to beginning a career in photojournalism and then shifting to education up to working for the Bureau of Indian Education, Dr. Roessel had an distinguished path up to becoming President of Diné College.

Under his leadership, Diné College continues to grow with professional development, new training programs, and opportunities for improvement and growth for all our students.

We want to thank Dr. Roessel for his outstanding work and will strive to work even more with Diné College on behalf of our students.

Cody M. Begaye
Senior Public Information Officer

To view the full release from the College Fund, visit